Let’s experiment – you don’t have to get up

Here’s an interesting experiment for us to try today, right now, just as we are.

The point of this experiment is to observe a thought entering your mind.

To feel and become aware of the energy around that thought.

Take a deep breath in, close your eyes, and see what you think about. What comes up?

If you are like me, nothing comes up. I can’t think of anything when I try to observe my thoughts. The action of observing the thoughts arising in my mind simply produces non-action for me. I can’t seem to think of anything. If I try to put a thought into my mind, it vanishes almost instantaneously. Nothing. This action reminds me of the Tao Te Ching, the middleway, that non-action is action and action is non-action.

Now if you are not like me and things do come up, become aware of the energy that creates those thoughts. Observe the feelings around that energy. For example: when you think or say the word “accident” there is a certain energy surrounding that word. This is what I mean by the energy associated with a thought. Becoming the observer of our thoughts by becoming aware of the energy allows us to become increasingly more aware of our thoughts. These are the steps to living meditation.

Give it a try – let’s see what you see/feel/become aware of!

Namaste

Chrysanthemum

About yogagirlsherri

I am a 200-HR RYT certified yoga instructor. I teach vinyasa primarily but also teach seniors, yoga nidra, restorative, pranayama and meditation. I have a passion for life, all things yoga and dogs. Drop me a questions, line, comment - I'll be happy to hear from you! Namaste View all posts by yogagirlsherri

4 responses to “Let’s experiment – you don’t have to get up

Leave a Reply

