Daily Yoga Practice

goaway

What’s more difficult? Getting to your daily class, getting out that yoga dvd daily, or creating your own daily yoga routine? How about all of the above!?

I recently started my own daily yoga routine, which I haven’t practiced for two days! I’ve tried, and beyond going into the yoga room, maybe lighting some incense and doing some long stretches, I haven’t felt motivated to do more – I’ve been focusing on creating a space in my backyard that welcomes nature. Yet, I distinctly hear the call of the yoga mat and decidedly dislike that I have neglected the practice I started recently. The focus of the practice was to increase upper body strength by using bakasana (crow pose), sirasana (headstand) and hastasana (hand stand). I was finally getting comfortable in bakasana when I stopped for the last two days and hastasana was getting a little, teeny-bit better. And now, I need to basically start over. Rather than beat myself up; I’m going to make the choice to breathe, let go and start over with grace.

At times, I wonder why I could happily teach yoga day in and day out – but fail to practice on my own when “my” time comes. I even find it easier to attend another instructor’s class than to do my own routine! For me, yoga is a time to build community, strength and patience while in the presence of others. To share the gift of yoga, I teach! And I give myself that same gift when I take classes from others; and yes, at the end of my self-designed practice – I feel that same gift!

Now, if I can just get to the mat to receive that gift today!

Namaste

About yogagirlsherri

I am a 200-HR RYT certified yoga instructor. I teach vinyasa primarily but also teach seniors, yoga nidra, restorative, pranayama and meditation. I have a passion for life, all things yoga and dogs. Drop me a questions, line, comment - I'll be happy to hear from you! Namaste View all posts by yogagirlsherri

2 responses to “Daily Yoga Practice

Leave a Reply

