Designing a New Practice

wuiet

Tonight, I will design a new practice for two classes that I teach tomorrow. I’m excited by the possibilities and, at the same time, worried about the perceptions. The perceptions of new students can be a bit overwhelming at first. Sometimes the students are more advanced than the class I have designed and I have to do some quick thinking to adjust and adapt to their needs. Other times, the students are completely awestruck or challenged by the experience of doing something completely different and new; again, I have to quickly adapt to the needs of the students in the class and move forward in an attempt to make it appear flawless. Our society has designed us to hold the ‘expert’ to the fire – feet first! What a challenge! Is it an unfair challenge though? I think about the instances where I have to do magic to align the needs of the class with my instruction and am sometimes completely surprised what I come up with and how I can make it work and still ‘flow’. I look forward to seeing my students grow. I look forward to giving them time to become completely absorbed in what they are doing; listening and breathing into their body at their own pace. The possibilities in yoga are endless, and the growth is limitless. So, while this new class format will be a challenge – at the same time – it is one that I welcome!

Namaste

About yogagirlsherri

I am a 200-HR RYT certified yoga instructor. I teach vinyasa primarily but also teach seniors, yoga nidra, restorative, pranayama and meditation. I have a passion for life, all things yoga and dogs. Drop me a questions, line, comment - I'll be happy to hear from you! Namaste View all posts by yogagirlsherri

2 responses to “Designing a New Practice

  • timesnlatte

    The studio where I practice uses a “semester” approach, which means that the teacher designs the class thinking in terms of 12 weeks. We don’t do the same thing at every class. As a student, I like it because if I wanted to do the same thing over and over, I’d get a dvd. The teacher gets to know the class and makes adaptations and suggestions that are suited to each student. It is a small studio, so that helps.

Leave a Reply

