Authenticity

cupoyoga.jpg

A cup of yoga notices that sometimes we choose to show our authenticity, no matter how small, and I’d like to take this moment to applaud that. I see this often in yoga classes.

I love knowing students are in the class for themselves, they are on the mat focusing on the sensations in their bodies. I adore when their gaze is turned inward; focused on the breath and movement. I honor when they aren’t on time with the routine, sometimes going slower; other times going faster. I can respect their reflection in that it is internal and their practice is authentic for them. I enjoy letting the student take responsibility for their pace, time and movement on the mat because it gives me, and them, the freedom to practice their poses at their pace in their bodies. Yoga, teaching and training, isn’t about controlling or dictating as teachers on the mat; it is simply guiding a person through their yoga practice and honoring their gift of yoga to themselves.

To your authentic practice today!

Namaste

About yogagirlsherri

I am a 200-HR RYT certified yoga instructor. I teach vinyasa primarily but also teach seniors, yoga nidra, restorative, pranayama and meditation. I have a passion for life, all things yoga and dogs. Drop me a questions, line, comment - I'll be happy to hear from you! Namaste View all posts by yogagirlsherri

Leave a Reply

